Tunisia : General information

Official Language: Arabic

Capital: Tunis

National anthem: Humate-al-Hima

Government: Republic (transitional government)

Area: 163,610 sq km (ranked 92nd)

Population: 10,673,800 inhabitants

Currency: Tunisian dinar (TND)

Time zone: UTC +1

Independence day: March 20th, 1956




  • Carthaginian period 814 Av J.C – 146 Av J.C
  • Roman period 27 BC-429 J.C
  • The Vandals 429-533
  • Byzantine Period 533-642
  • Epoque Arab-Muslim
  • Arrival and installation of the Arab 642-800
  • Aghlabid period 800-909
  • Fatimid Era 909-973
  • Zirid Epoque 972-1160
  • Hilali invasion 1050-1052
  • Mowahidite Era 1160-1228
  • Hafsid period 1228-1349
  • Transitional period 1349-1574
  • Ottoman period 1574-1881
  • French Settlement 1881-1956
  • Independence 1956
  • First Republic 1959-2011
  • 2nd Republic (under incorporation)

Tunisia is the pearl of the Mediterranean Sea. Rich by a history of thousands of years, Tunisia is the northernmost country in Africa, and also a Maghreb country bordered by Algeria to the west, Libya to the southeast, and the Mediterranean Sea to the north and east.

“Hello TUNISIA” team will make you discover or re discover Tunisia from different angles. With original photos and videos, travel through the places and the ages in search of culture, history and beauty.
Welcome to Tunisia!


This post is also available in: French, Arabic

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *